Oregon Alcohol Server Class
Oregon Alcohol Server Class
Return to the Index » Next Lesson

Service Permits


Anyone who mixes, sells, or serves alcohol.

  Anyone who mixes, sells, or serves alcohol in any manner for drinking on the premises, and anyone who manages these people, must have a valid liquor license or service permit.

 Who has to have a service permit?

Managers must obtain a permit even if they themselves don't mix, sell, or serve. 

Cashiers and hosts and hostesses must also obtain a permit, even if ringing up the sale of alcohol is their only alcohol service duty.  (Host and hostesses who only greet and seat customers do not need a service permit.  But without a service permit, they may not collect money for alcohol, ring up alcohol sales, or help servers deliver or pour alcohol.)  

Volunteers at licensed establishments.  (Volunteers at some special events holding Temporary Sales licenses are not required to obtain a service permit.  See OAR 845-005-0440 for details.)

A service permittee is any person who has been granted a service permit.  Service permits are good for five years and may be used at any licensed premises in the state.  A service permit is the server's permit to serve alcohol and belongs to the permittee.  It does not belong to the employer.  Permittees are responsible for informing the OLCC when they change their name or address. 

The law says service permittees must make their service permits "available at any time while on duty for immediate inspection" by any OLCC regulatory employee or police officer.  It's best to have your permit on you when you're working.  If your permit is in your wallet in the employee room and you can produce it immediately, you would be complying with the law.  But if you leave your permit at home it would not be available for "immediate inspection" and you would not be complying with the law. 

You must be at least 18 years old to obtain a service permit. (Permittees ages 18 through 20 are called minor service permittees.)

Minor Service Permittees

Generally, alcohol servers must be 21 years old.  Minors 18 to 20 years old may take orders for, serve, or sell alcohol, but only in areas where the minor posting allows them.  (See ORS 471.482.)   Minors must get a minor service permit.  On their 21st birthday, this same permit provides all the privileges of an adult service permit.

All liquor licenses that allow retail sales privileges may employ minors in areas and during hours when minor patronage is allowed unless otherwise prohibited by OLCC rules. 

Minor service permittees may NOT:

  • Serve alcohol or take food orders in areas prohibited to minors, such as a bar or lounge.
  • Function solely as a bartender or cocktail server.
  • Mix drinks.

Minor permittees MAY:

  • Take orders for and serve alcohol in areas not prohibited to minors, such as a dining room or hotel lobby.
  • Pour wine or beer as a service to patrons at their tables in areas not prohibited to minors.
  • Draw alcohol from the tap if the drawing is done in areas not prohibited to minors.
  • Enter areas prohibited to minors, such as the bar or lounge, to:
  1. Order and pick up drinks for service in non-prohibited areas.
  2. Restock supplies.
  3. Set and clear tables.
  4. Deliver food, but not take food orders.

Minors must leave the prohibited areas after performing these limited duties.  Minor service permits allow young people to work in businesses as food servers, but not primarily as alcohol servers.

How do I get a service permit? 

1) Clearly complete (by printing or typing) all the spaces on a service permit application before your first day mixing, selling, or serving alcohol.  Then have an authorized person, usually your employer, verify your age and identity and sign the application.  Make sure your application is completed and mailed to the OLCC with the appropriate fee.  (www.oregon.gov/OLCC)

 Licensees are responsible for immediately transmitting the application by the end of the first work day following your first work shift.  Service permit applications are available from your employer and your local OLCC office. 

2) Take and pass an alcohol server education class within 45 days from the first day you start mixing, selling, or serving alcohol.  

If you pass a class before you complete a service permit application, the OLCC will give you credit for your class if you apply for a service permit within two years of the date you passed the exam.

You should receive your service permit about 14 days after  the OLCC receives your completed service permit application, OLCC fee, and you have passed the server education test (which will be given at the end of this class).

Not every person qualifies for a service permit.  Applicants may be denied if they have recent or multiple felony or DUII convictions or if they make a false statement on the application.  The form contains a detailed description of the conditions that make someone ineligible for a service permit.  Read the application carefully and complete it fully and honestly.



Return to the Index » Next Lesson




Home | Signup | Demo | Contact Us Login | Help/FAQ | Oregon Food Handlers
Magic Popup